I’ve written down something….

So I haven’t posted anything in a very long time. I have been meaning to. I’ve even started on a couple of posts but those just ended up in the drafts folder. Also I guess I haven’t been feeling very motivated to actually write something I am content with. I absolutely respect bloggers who out up something every week. You are awesome and creative and super talented. It’s not easy. I’ve wanted to do that one post a week thing but well I don’t know. Maybe that should be my new year’s resolution.

Writing stuff down has always been a helpful way for to make sense of things. But then again sometimes life happens very fast you can hardly keep up. Your hands are full with a child you’re desperately trying to spend time with before she grows (of which they grow very fast). Some days I write awesome blog posts in my head and that’s where they stay. I procrastinate a lot and it sets me back a lot in certain areas. Sometimes, it takes good music to get your head in the zone and to find your mojo. And that’s why I am super thankful to Switchfoot. Their “Fading West” album has me in the zone today.

So about these New Year’s resolutions. I have few of them set for next year (Maybe more than a few). I am reluctant about setting them and writing them down even. I am the same way with writing down goals and plans. Because when I fail to reach the set goals I become all disappointed and discouraged. I am hard on myself when I fail. But maybe in 2015, I’ll exercise more, I’ll change my wardrobe(it’s in desperate need of a facelift), I’ll blog more, save more, work harder…amongst a bunch of other things. I believe it’s important to put these things in the hands of the One who knows us better than anyone else. He knows our strengths and weaknesses and He alone makes everything possible.

There are some things that should be left in 2014 though. Lists of those things are going to be making their rounds closer to the beginning of 2015 and in the greatest part of January. This year I purposed to try and rebuild on certain friendships and cement others. At different points this year this worked out well and I failed at some. I often forget that every friendship is a two way street. Both parties have to be willing to invest in the friendship. Sometimes, I was the only one doing the investing. Other times I have to admit, I was the one not putting in effort. If you feel you’ve done your best in a friendship but the other party is not putting in effort, then maybe it’s time to let go. Maybe for a little while till they also realize and put in effort or for a little while then try again. Sometimes it’s for cutting your losses and moving on. Or just for letting go and letting God.

A lot can happen in one hour. A lot more can happen in an entire year. So maybe this year wasn’t your year and you didn’t achieve even a quarter of the stuff you intended to, be glad you have another opportunity to try again. Maybe change your strategy. Sometimes you need to get back to your drawing board and see what failed about your original plan. So you blundered here and there, or you played it safe. You have another upcoming 365 days to try out new things. And besides we have 21 days left. A lot of stuff can happen in 21 days  I am hoping to blog again before this year ends. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

